The internet is not a truck, nor is it free. Boo-urns. I'm all for copyright, and I guess I was a little abusive in this case, but it was for a worthy cause! (I think...)
This is what they had to say:
Blogger has been notified, according to the terms of the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA), that certain content in your blog infringes upon the copyrights of others. The URL(s) of the allegedly infringing post(s) may be found at the end of this message.I'll post the actual C&D when it arrives, and I'll also repost the Top 100/List On Fire, sans links.
The notice that we received from Eric Green of Destined Enterprises, with any personally identifying information removed, will be posted online by a service called Chilling Effects at http://www.chillingeffects.org. We do this in accordance with the Digital Millennium Copyright Act (DMCA). Please note that it may take Chilling Effects up to several weeks to post the notice online at the link provided.
The DMCA is a United States copyright law that provides guidelines for online service provider liability in case of copyright infringement. We are in the process of removing from our servers the links that allegedly infringe upon the copyrights of others. If we did not do so, we would be subject to a claim of copyright infringement, regardless of its merits. See http://www.educause.edu/Browse/645?PARENT_ID=254 for more information about the DMCA, and see http://www.google.com/dmca.html for the process that Blogger requires in order to make a DMCA complaint.
Blogger can reinstate these posts upon receipt of a counter notification pursuant to sections 512(g)(2) and 3) of the DMCA. For more information about the requirements of a counter notification and a link to a sample counter notification, see http://www.google.com/dmca.html#counter.
Please note that repeated violations to our Terms of Service may result in further remedial action taken against your Blogger account. If you have legal questions about this notification, you should retain your own legal counsel. If you have any other questions about this notification, please let us know.
Sincerely,
The Blogger Team
[Sorry kids.]


I got the same e-mail last night. I wish I knew what song it was...I've never gotten a C&D before. A few takedown requests which are totally understandable, and why I specifically say just e-mail me and I'll take it down. Background on Eric Green/Destined Enterprises: http://beatdiaspora.blogspot.com/2008/11/turkey-day-takedown.html
ReplyDeleteBizarre. I'm gonna look into it further too.
ReplyDeleteI definitely wrote the same "just email me" line under my profile.
As an insult to injury, the hosting account I was/had been using for the last 3 years (Fileden.com) was completely deleted also. No record of me ever existing there ("no user with that name exists", "email address invalid")
These guys are tough, and really, really lame.